RSS

Gigi La Mayne speaks on upcoming mixtape

04 Apr
Gigi La Mayne speaks on upcoming mixtape

Award winning female emcee GiGi la Mayne is back ! I connected with her to talk about what she has in store for us.
You are working on a mix-tape. Tell us more about it?

Well it’s called ‘Colour of Reign’. It is an intro to GiGi and why she is not just worth being referred to as an individual who formed and blended into a collective. It features many reputable names and is my first projected signed with Bentey Records and MFE. Look out for Dankie San , Pro Kid, Red Button and Captain FS to name a few. That’s the new driving force behind ‘Colour of Reign’

Readers might be wondering why a South African Hip Hop Awards winner is being interviewed on this platform. Do you mind sharing the ‘secret’?

I am Zimbabwean by origins. I just feel I should represent Zimbabweans the hardest. South Africa is where I was born but Zimbabwe was responsible for moulding my musical perceptions.

Just like me, you’re a young African female artist breaking new ground in the music industry. What keeps you going?

It is not easy being African and furthermore, an African woman. We need more empowerment and strength from each other. Unity amongst women is important. I guess music is a calling to achieve the above more than anything.
I am not doing this for the money or fame. I need to be doing this for the kids like me who need to escape from their environments; a window to heaven.

Let’s get back to ‘Colour of Reign’. As you put in work into this project, what are your predictions for the final product?

Colour of Reign has to be the most heart flinching project I’ve done to date. I hope my people will love it, inter-continentally.

When can we expect it?

‘Colour of Reign’ is set for release on the 5th of June. In the meantime, my single ‘City Lights’ that is currently on rotation drops today for free into the public arena.

City Lights has had positive reviews from the media and public alike. Can you tell us what made you pen this song and what message you were hoping to put across?

It’s about me being introduced into the urban youth industry. The ideals of wanting to be at the very relevant youth event under the city lights and wanting to experience it with my people

Like she said, ‘City Lights’ is now available for everyone and it is for free! All you need to do is have enough data and the song is all yours. Download City Lights for free here . To keep up to date with GiGi and her music, follow here on twitter @Gigi_LaMayne_

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Gigi La Mayne speaks on upcoming mixtape

  1. ท่อตัน

    May 6, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Very helpful info specially the remaining part 🙂 I handle such information a lot.

    I used to be seeking this certain info for a
    long time. Thanks and good luck.

     

Leave a comment